Ulcerate Releases “To Flow Through Ashen Hearts” Video

- in Music
Comments Off on Ulcerate Releases “To Flow Through Ashen Hearts” Video

Ulcerate, who recently announced the June 14 release of their new album Cutting the Throat of God (Debemur Morti Productions), have shared a second single from the new album, with today’s arrival of “To Flow Through Ashen Hearts” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uOHFoEHCkc).

The song was released in conjunction with a Dehn Sora-directed video for the seven-minute track..

Last month the New Zealand-based trio shared news of the album’s forthcoming arrival, and with it was the first taste of music from the seven-song album: “The Dawn Is Hollow” (https://youtu.be/l31Xj44vJEA), which Revolver described as “titanically heavy… it’s the perfect balance of heavy and avant-garde,” and Metal Injection said it’s “exactly as savage as you think it is… incorporating everything from blinding speed to smothering atmospheres.”

Cutting the Throat of God was recorded in the fall of 2023, under the watchful eye of drummer Jamie Saint Merat, who also oversaw production and provided artist direction for the collection. Renowned mastering engineer Magnus Lindberg (known for his work with Cult of Luna, Russian Circles and Tribulation) put the finishing touches on the release. Cutting the Throat of God explores a cohesive lyrical theme centered around the rupture of morality, the delicate boundary between depravity and extremity, and the irreversible descent into darkness.

Album pre-orders including limited-edition vinyl variants are available now: https://bfan.link/cutting-the-throat-of-god. Cutting the Throat of God is also available on CD and digitally.

Ulcerate’s 2020 album, Stare Into Death And Be Still, landed on multiple year-end lists, with Stereogum saying, in their Top 10 Metal Albums of 2020, that the album possessed a “meditative calm that comes from the balance of blasting, screaming, and just enough melody to wash it down.” Brooklyn Vegan, also in their year-end, best of piece, added: “There’s no band quite like New Zealand’s Ulcerate… embracing melody through death metal with open arms, all while riding the line between mind-blowing instrumental prowess and pitch black ambiance.”

Cutting the Throat of God tracklist:

1.    To Flow Through Ashen Hearts

2.    The Dawn is Hollow

3.    Further Opening the Wounds

4.    Transfiguration In and Out of Worlds

5.    To See Death Just Once

6.    Undying as an Apparition

7.    Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate is guitarist Michael Hoggard, drummer Jamie Saint Merat and bassist/vocalist Paul Kelland. The band has released six albums: Stare Into Death And Be Still (2020), Shrines Of Paralysis (2016), Vermis (2013), The Destroyers Of All (2011), Everything Is Fire (2009) and Of Fracture And Failure (2007).







You may also like

Iconic Music Chain Sam Ash Closing all Locations After 100 Years in Business

Iconic music retail chain Sam Ash has issued